Frequently asked questions / Centreon IMP

About the Centreon IMP Solution

1. What is Centreon IMP?

Centreon IMP is a fully-packaged, easy-to-use on-premise monitoring solution that includes the Centreon Open-Source Solution, a support contract, access to the Centreon Plugin Pack catalog and the Centreon auto-discovery feature.

2. How can I subscribe to Centreon IMP?

There are three ways to subscribe to Centreon IMP. The solution can be subscribed directly from the Centreon sales team, from a trusted Centreon Certified Partner or online from the Centreon ecommerce website.

3. What are the differences between subscribing online, directly from Centreon or its Certified Partners?

Centreon and its Certified Partners are certified to provide a whole range of support options that are not available online. They can also quote a scalable solution for any number of equipment to be monitored. When buying online, the maximum number of hosts that can be monitored is restricted (e.g. 100 equipment when subscribing to Centreon IMP-100) and the conditions to access the support team are limited and less flexible.

4. What are the differences between Centreon Open-Source, Centreon IMP and Centreon EMS solutions?

This page describes the main differences between the three solutions.

5. Can I upgrade my Centreon IMP platform to Centreon EMS?

Yes, please contact sales@centreon.com to get a quote.

Subscribing to Centreon IMP online with store.centreon.com/en/

6. Which online centreon IMP offering is currently available?

Centreon IMP-100 is an online subscription for an on-premise Centreon IMP platform that can monitor up to 100 hosts and can access the full Centreon Plugin Packs catalog.

7. Are there differences between current and past online Centreon IMP offerings?

From 2016 to 2018, Centreon offered an online Centreon IMP subscription that we now call Centreon IMP/2016 to differentiate it from current offerings.

Centreon IMP/2016 did not limit the number of hosts that can be monitored by the platform. The support contract only covered the Plugin Pack functionality rather than the whole platform. It also only granted access to a subset of the Plugin Packs catalog.

Centreon IMP-100 limits the number of hosts that can be monitored to 100. The support contract covers the entire Centreon platform. It also grants access to 100% of the Plugin Packs catalog.

8. What type of support is included in the current online Centreon IMP offering?

Centreon IMP online subscriptions give access to Centreon TechSupport (CTS) and applies to the complete solution. CTS can be reached by email and all customer issues are acknowledged within one business day.

9. Which Plugin Packs may I download with my Centreon IMP-100 subscription?

Centreon IMP-100 grants access to 100% of the Plugin Packs catalog.

10. How many hosts may I monitor with my Centreon IMP-100 subscription?

Up to 100 hosts may be monitored with a Centreon IMP-100 subscription.

11. What is a host?

A host is any physical or virtual equipment with an IP address that can be monitored by Centreon: a switch, a router, a server, a virtual machine or instance, a database instance, and many more.

12. What happens if I exceed the maximum number of hosts allowed by my subscription?

If you exceed the maximum number of hosts, the platform keeps monitoring. However, support will be unavailable, you can’t update your Plugin Packs or download new Plugin Packs, and auto-discovery feature is not applicable anymore.

13. How can I reach the Support Team when I have an issue?
14. Which payment method do you allow?

You may use a credit card or a PayPal account.

Using Centreon IMP-100

15. What are the prerequisites to benefit from a Centreon IMP-100 subscription?

Download and install the latest version of Centreon OS and then register your platform with your Centreon account. A server or virtual machine with 2 vCPU and 2 GB of RAM is required. This server must access Internet.

16. When reaching the “Configuration > Plugin Packs > Manager” menu, I get a “No plugin packs found“ message.

The platform must access Internet. If this requires a proxy server, you should configure its IP address in the “Administration > Parameters > Centreon UI” menu.

17. I installed the Plugin Pack and deployed it but I have the following message in my supervision: “(No output returned from plugin)”.

Plugin Packs provide a ready-to-use configuration of Centreon Plugins. Only Centreon Plugins related to free packs have been installed by default on your Centreon servers. For other plugins, it is necessary to follow the deployment procedure, in order to install the probes and their associated dependencies. This procedure is available by clicking on the “?” icon of each Plugin Pack once installed.

18. Can I transfer my subscription to another Centreon host?

No, it is not possible. Centreon IMP is based on Centreon host authentication via a unique identifier. If you change the technical feature of Centreon host, your identifier becomes wrong. Thus, it is recommended that you do not change the feature of your Centreon host. However, if you need to change that, please contact us via email at imp@centreon.com.

19. Can I upgrade, downgrade or cancel my Centreon IMP subscription at any time?

Any change or cancellation of your subscription, once paid, will take effect at the end of your chosen plan. If for any exceptional reason you need to change or cancel immediately, please contact us at imp@centreon.com.

20. How can I subscribe to multiple subscription plans?

You may subscribe to multiple different plans by checking out each order separately. This is to ensure that a dedicated license key is associated to each Centreon IMP platform with the chosen duration.

21. What happens if I cancel my subscription to Centreon IMP?

When your subscription is not valid anymore, the platform keeps monitoring. You no longer have access to CTS, you can’t update your Plugin Packs or download new Plugin Packs, and Centreon’s auto-discovery feature is no longer applicable.

Centreon IMP platform subscribed before end of 2018 (also called Centreon IMP/2016)

22. I initially subscribed to Centreon IMP before the end of 2018, what happens now?

From 2016 to 2018, Centreon offered an online Centreon IMP subscription that we now call Centreon IMP/2016 to differentiate it from current offerings. At this time, there is no change for customers using the IMP/2016 subscription plan and customers are granted the same service. The number of hosts that can be monitored by the platform is not limited, the support contract only covers the Plugin Packs functionality, a subset only of the Plugin Packs catalog may be accessed, and subscription is renewed as usual.

23. Will Centreon stop this Centreon IMP/2016 service?

No. Centreon does not sell this plan to new customers anymore, but Centreon does not plan to stop the service for existing customers.

24. I currently monitor less than 100 hosts, may I upgrade my Centreon IMP/2016 subscription to a Centreon IMP-100 to benefit from the complete Plugin Packs catalog and extended support?

Yes. You should first cancel the automatic renewal of your subscription, then wait until the end of the current subscription period. You may then subscribe to Centreon IMP-100 and register your platform to this new subscription.

25. I currently monitor more than 100 hosts, how can I have an extended support and access the complete Plugin Packs catalog?

Contact our sales team at sales@centreon.com to get a customized quote.

Foire aux questions / Centreon IMP

 

Questions générales sur la solution Centreon IMP

1. Qu’est-ce que la solution Centreon IMP ?

Centreon IMP est une solution de supervision on-premise, facile à mettre en oeuvre, qui intègre la solution Centreon OSS, un contrat de support et maintenance, un accès au catalogue des Plugin Packs Centreon ainsi qu’une fonctionnalité d’auto-découverte des ressources.

2. Quels sont les différents modes de commercialisation de la solution Centreon IMP ?

Il existe deux modes de commercialisation. D’une part, Centreon IMP est commercialisée par les équipes de vente de Centreon et de ses partenaires, et d’autre part, Centreon IMP est accessible à partir de la boutique en ligne Centreon.

3. La solution Centreon IMP est-elle différente en fonction de son mode de commercialisation ?

Oui. D’une part, les équipes de vente de Centreon et de ses partenaires proposent tout une gamme de contrats de support et maintenance qui ne sont pas accessibles lorsque l’on souscrit en ligne. D’autre part, souscrire en ligne à l’offre Centreon IMP-100 limite la capacité de supervision à 100 hôtes. Les équipes commerciales proposent des licences Centreon IMP permettant de superviser de plus grandes capacités.

4. Quelles sont les principales différences entre Centreon OSS, Centreon IMP et Centreon EMS ?

Cette page décrit les différences principales entre nos trois solutions.

5. Puis-je faire évoluer ma plateforme de Centreon IMP vers Centreon EMS ?

Si vous souhaitez intégrer ces fonctionnalités additionnelles à votre licence d’utilisation de Centreon IMP, nous vous remercions de nous contacter sur sales@centreon.com.

Commercialisation en ligne de la solution Centreon IMP

6. Quelles sont les offres en ligne proposées aujourd’hui ?

Centreon IMP-100 est une souscription à la solution Centreon IMP pour une plateforme qui supervise un maximum de 100 hôtes. Elle donne accès à un support complet par email et à la totalité du catalogue de Plugin Packs.

7. Quelles différences entre les offres proposées en ligne aujourd’hui et celles qui étaient proposées avant 2019 ?

À partir de 2016 et jusqu’en décembre 2018, Centreon proposait de souscrire en ligne à une offre Centreon IMP dénommée ici Centreon IMP/2016.

Cette offre Centreon IMP/2016 ne limitait pas le nombre de hôtes supervisés. Par contre, le support inclus ne concernait que la fonctionnalité Plugin Packs plutôt que l’ensemble de la solution de supervision. De plus, elle ne donnait accès qu’à un nombre limité de Plugin Packs.

Les offres actuelles limitent le nombre de hôtes supervisés. Mais le support s’applique à la totalité de la solution de supervision et la souscription donne accès à 100% du catalogue de Plugin Packs.

8. Quel est le support inclus dans ma souscription Centreon IMP ?

Une souscription Centreon IMP-100 donne accès au Centreon Tech Support (CTS). Il s’applique sur l’ensemble de la solution de supervision. Notre équipe est joignable par email du lundi au vendredi. Dans le cadre de cette souscription, Centreon garantit une réponse à J+1 (jours ouvrés).

9. À quels Plugin Packs ai-je droit avec ma souscription Centreon IMP-100 ?

Une souscription Centreon IMP-100 donne accès à l’intégralité du catalogue de Plugin Packs.

10. Combien d’hôtes puis-je superviser avec ma souscription Centreon IMP-100 ?

Une souscription Centreon IMP-100 permet de superviser un maximum de 100 hôtes.

11. Qu’est-ce qu’un hôte ?

Un hôte est un équipement physique ou virtuel, avec une adresse IP, supervisé par Centreon : un routeur, un serveur, une machine virtuelle, une base de données, etc.

12. Que se passe-t-il si je dépasse le nombre d’hôtes autorisé par ma souscription ?

En cas de dépassement du nombre autorisé, la supervision continue de fonctionner, mais vous n’avez plus accès au support, ni aux mise à jour des Plugin Packs ni aux téléchargements de nouveaux Plugin Packs. De même, la fonctionnalité d’auto-découverte n’est plus accessible. Dans cette situation, nous vous conseillons de contacter notre service commercial : sales@centreon.com

13. Comment contacter le service support en cas de problème ?

Contactez le support à l’adresse imp@centreon.com

14. Quels sont les modes de paiement possibles ?

Vous pouvez payer par carte de crédit et par PayPal.

Déployer Centreon IMP-100

15. Quels sont les pré-requis pour bénéficier de Centreon IMP-100 ?

Pour mettre en oeuvre Centreon IMP, téléchargez et installez la dernière version de la solution Centreon puis enregistrez votre plateforme avec votre compte Centreon. Un serveur ou une machine virtuelle avec 2 vCPU et 2 Go de RAM est recommandé. Ce serveur doit être connecté à Internet.

16. En accédant au menu “Configuration > Plugin Packs > Manager”, j’ai le message “No Plugin Packs found“

Votre plate-forme Centreon doit avoir accès à Internet. Si cet accès nécessite la configuration d’un proxy, configurez ce dernier dans le menu “Administration > Parameters > Centreon UI”.

17. J'ai installé le Plugin Pack et déployé ce dernier mais j'ai le message suivant dans ma supervision : "(No output returned from plugin)"

Les Plugin Packs (packs de configuration) apportent une configuration prête à l’emploi des Centreon Plugins (sondes de supervision). Seuls les Centreon Plugins liés aux packs gratuits ont été installés par défaut sur vos serveurs Centreon. Pour les autres plugins, il est nécessaire de suivre la procédure de déploiement, afin d’installer les sondes et les dépendances associées. Cette procédure est disponible en cliquant sur l’icône « ? » de chaque Plugin Pack une fois installé.

18. Puis-je transférer la souscription sur un autre serveur Centreon ?

Non, cela n’est pas possible. La solution Centreon IMP repose sur l’authentification du serveur Centreon via un identifiant matériel. En cas de modification des caractéristiques techniques du serveur Centreon, l’identifiant matériel devient erroné. Ainsi, il est recommandé de ne pas modifier les caractéristiques de son serveur Centreon. Cependant, si vous souhaitez modifier ces dernières, merci de nous contacter sur imp@centreon.com

19. Puis-je modifier ou annuler ma souscription à Centreon IMP quand je veux ?

Toute modification ou annulation de votre souscription payée prendra effet à la fin de la durée choisie. Si pour une raison exceptionnelle vous souhaitiez modifier ou annuler votre souscription immédiatement, contactez-nous sur imp@centreon.com

20. Comment puis-je souscrire à plusieurs abonnements ?

Vous pouvez vous abonner à plusieurs souscriptions différentes en réglant chaque commande séparément. Ceci permet d’assurer qu’une clé de licence spécifique est associée à chaque plate-forme Centreon IMP avec la durée choisie.

21. Que se passe-t-il si j'arrête ma souscription à Centreon IMP ?

Lorsque votre souscription prend fin, votre plateforme continue de superviser et les Plugin Packs Centreon restent installés. Votre contrat de support prend fin. Vous n’avez plus accès aux mises à jour de ces Plugin Packs ni aux nouveaux Plugin Packs. Par ailleurs, les fonctions d’auto-découverte seront désactivées.

Souscriptions Centreon IMP commercialisées avant décembre 2018 (dénommées aussi Centreon IMP/2016)

22. J’ai initialement souscrit à Centreon IMP avant décembre 2018, que se passe-t-il maintenant ?

À partir de 2016 et jusqu’en décembre 2018, Centreon proposait de souscrire en ligne à une offre Centreon IMP dénommée ici Centreon IMP/2016. Rien ne change pour les clients ayant souscrit à cette offre. Le contenu du service n’a pas changé : support limité à la fonctionnalité Plugin Packs, accès au même catalogue limité de Plugin Packs, pas de limitation quant au nombre de hôtes supervisés. A échéance de votre souscription, celle-ci sera renouvelée comme d’habitude.

23. Est-ce que Centreon s’apprête à arrêter le service souscrit ?

Non. Centreon ne commercialise plus cette offre pour de nouveaux clients mais n’a pas prévu d’arrêter le service souscrit pas les clients Centreon IMP/2016 actuels.

24. Je supervise moins de 100 hôtes, puis-je transformer ma souscription Centreon IMP/2016 en souscription Centreon IMP-100 pour bénéficier d’un support étendu et de 100% des Plugin Packs ?

Oui. Vous devez d’abord interrompre le renouvellement automatique de votre souscription. À échéance de celle-ci, vous pouvez souscrire à un nouveau contrat Centreon IMP-100. Vous pourrez alors lier votre plateforme à cette nouvelle souscription.

25. Je supervise plus de 100 hôtes, comment puis-je bénéficier d’un support étendu et de l’accès à 100% des Plugin Packs ?

Contactez notre équipe commerciale pour obtenir un devis.